Ponderings

Discuss all matters related to Dagenham and Redbridge
dj johnny b

I haven’t ever posted on this Forum – although I was a regular on the Steve McG’s – but feel moved to do so here by the current situation at the club. Now living away from London it’s difficult to get to many matches but I retain my season ticket. For those who don’t know me, I have supported the club since its inception and indeed Leytonstone (and all the subsequent merged entities) since the mid 1960’s. During that time I’ve been a supporter, press secretary, fanzine writer (in the days before blogs!) so I feel I have some background on which to base my comments that follow:
First, I was alarmed and dismayed when it became apparent that we appear to be in some financial trouble. I had always celebrated the fact that we cut our cloth accordingly and balanced the books. I felt misled, duped indeed. Second, the moneyed cavalry charging over the hill, on closer inspection, did not appear to be whiter than white. Thirdly – and I find this infuriating – there has been much opaqueness, misinformation, gossip, changing of plans – to the extent that none of us really knows what the true situation is. And how on earth efforts have been made to change the legal position of the club without the members agreeing this formally I have no idea. Couple this with an all too obvious, transparent and clumsy PR exercise by the potential investor, then the proposal seems to be being railroaded through. I have found this immensely depressing to observe.
I really don’t understand where (and even if) the financial problems came from but if this is the situation then we now have to decide what sort of club we want to be. Many seem to be seduced by the £ signs. Many, now we have had such a good start to the season, understandably want to see this maintained, ever upwards and so forth. But it isn’t that simple.